Contact Us Today 216-771-2600

Ohio Department Of Commerce-minimum Wage Standards

Pursuant to Ohio Revised Code §4111, minimum wages in Ohio are set at a certain standard. All non-tipped employees must be paid at least $7.00 per hour. Tipped employees must be paid at least $3.50 per hour.

All employers that gross over $150,000.00 per year must pay employees overtime. Overtime shall be paid at one and a half times the employee’s normal wage rate. Employees cannot work for more than seven consecutive days.

Who is considered to be an “employee” who must be paid minimum wage? The State defines an employee as “an individual employed by an employer, but does not include individuals employed

1) by the United States;

2) as a baby sitter or live-in companion;

3) in outside sales compensated by commissions;

4) in services of a charitable nature;

5) at a camp or recreational area for minors, if operated by a nonprofit organization;

6) employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are family members”

The Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce may authorize a license to pay less than minimum wage to disabled workers.

More on Business Law

The Attorneys at Ott & Associates Co., LPA, frequently write and publish legal articles in order to educate clients on continuously changing laws in each practice area.

COVID-19

As your legal counsel, we become part of your team, providing the legal component to your business decisions.

Let us get started today.

216-771-2600

Ott & Associates Co., LPA

1300 E 9th St, Suite 1520
Cleveland, OH 44114

Ph: 216-771-2600
Fx: 216-830-8939

LinkedIn

©2021 Ott & Associates Co., LPA All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy